A word from the Mrs.

I write for a living. I interview people, do my own research and then arrange pixels into words on the screen — and I get paid to do it. My eighth grade self would have called this a dream job.

I used to write for fun. I played around with poetry, kept a journal and dabbled unsuccesfully in songwriting. I even had a blog while I studied abroad, although I think it had all of 10 readers on a good day, and half of them were related to me.

Something funny happens when they pay you to do what you love. Something about putting a dollar amount on passion. When you come home, you want to do anything but what you spend the majority of your workweek doing. I wonder if this happens to musicians, who spend 10 years practicing to land a gig with a major symphony. When the principal oboeist comes home from work, does she pick up her instrument for pleasure? Does the major league baseball player toss the ball around with his kid, or does he suggest something different?

I’m one of the lucky few. In a world where trash needs to be collected, toilets need to be scrubbed and french fries need to be dipped in hot oil, I get to earn a paycheck doing work that, at least at some point in my life, I would have done for free. I still do love writing and admire a beautiful turn of phrase, I just had little patience or interest for it outside of my 8-to-5.

Until now …

I’m in my mid-20s. Plenty is going on in my life that I want to remember, plenty of events — both unusual and mundane — that I want to hold onto.  My husband is in medical school and applying for the National Health Service Corps (NHSC) scholarship, which will pay back his medical school loans in exchange for working in an underserved area for three years.

One thing I’ve found as we embark on the doctor education process is that there’s little support for medical students’ spouses. I know there are thousands of medical wives and husbands out there, struggling through lonely nights and weekends filled with studying.
Maybe this blog will provide some comfort, laughter and reassurance for them. Maybe this will never be more than a record for myself. Either way, I’m OK with that. If you do happen to read this, please leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in medical school, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A word from the Mrs.

  1. evaliern says:

    Yay! The more spouses, the better!

  2. I too am a Doctor’s wife – and I too make my living as a writer!!! It’s a fabulous dream job… That makes writing for myself seem less appealing. Ah well. Such is life!

    Glad to meet another medical spouse!

  3. I know you mean about not much out there for med spouses. It seemed when I first started looking there was nothing – the more I look though, the more I find. And it’s always good to find new med spouses to relate to.

  4. Lauren says:

    Welcome to the wee little club of medical wives. Glad to have another one of us around to read! Can’t wait to read more!

  5. Sarah Marie says:

    Mrs.:Just want to extend a quick “hello.” I found your blog only moments ago but can already tell it will be a comfort to me as my fiancé and I move from his pre-med into marriage and medical school next year. He’s in the middle of secondaries as we speak (well, technically he’s taking a bio-chemistry exam!) I’m so appreciative that you’re allowing me a glimpse into something my future could very well resemble soon.
    So: hello! (:

    • doctorandmrs says:

      Glad to see you here! Good luck as your fiance starts medical school. When’s the wedding?

    • Lindsey says:

      Hello Dr. and Mrs.! I, like Sarah Marie, am in the process of supporting my fiance as he is applying to medical school (also in secondaries). We are getting married in January 2011 and will be finding out in the spring where we will be… it will be anywhere in this country since he is applying all over. I previously had a fairytale dream about being married to a doctor… now that I realize that this future life is not all rainbows and roses, it’s a tough reality to face. This is not for the weak, the weary, the uncommitted. This is going to be a BIG sacrifice. And now that I realize this, I am also looking for support. So thank you for writing this blog and encouraging women like us who are going to be entering this world of “Dr. and Mrs.”

      • doctorandmrs says:

        Hi Lindsey,
        Congrats on your upcoming wedding! Life in medical school certainly isn’t all rainbows and roses, but there are plenty of wonderful moments. I hope to chronicle the good and the bad. And hopefully it’ll never get too ugly.
        -The Mrs.

Leave a Reply

